My Journey to Costa Rica

In just a few days I will be boarding my plane to Costa Rica to spend the next 5 weeks!  The excitement has not set in mainly because I still do not believe that the time is already here.  I have dreamed about this trip for so long and I know there are so many good things to come.  This trip is especially important to me because I know there is so much to learn while being in Costa Rica and thankfully this blog will help me document it all.  Between the opportunities to learn the beautiful language of Spanish and documenting their “green efforts” and natural beauty, I know I will never get bored. Costa Rica is known for very progressive environmental policies and I think I will be able to learn a lot and take a lot back here to the United States.  If you did not know, I am a strong goal setter.  Check out some of my goals for this summer in Costa Rica:

Check out as many national parks as I can!Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 6.59.38 PM

This is the Poas Valcanoe situated in one of Costa Rica’s many national parks. For such a small country, Costa Rica has 26 national parks. I can’t wait to explore as many as I can.

 Attempt to speak Spanish

I know this is an iffy for me but I want to indulge in the culture as much as I can and finally put to use my 4+ years of Spanish classes!

Try one new thing every day.

I would like to thank “My Year With Eleanor: A Memoir” for this idea. Whether it is something as small as trying a new food or something as big as taking a weekend trip by myself I want to take as many chances as I can while I have the opportunity.

Learn as much as I can about their sustainability methods

Costa Rica is such an important model for sustainability so I am ready to dive right in and learn as much as I can.

Take as many pictures as I can 

When I get caught up in the moment it is so hard for me enjoy it and snap a photo.  But, when I look back at my photo albums from my past journey’s I can’t help but feel so grateful to have those memories.

Use less social media

While I want to attempt to take more photographs, I want to stay away from the time consuming Facebook, Instagram and even just my phone in general. I want to enjoy this experience and not be caught between what is going on back home. This is my experience to learn new things, meet new people and enjoy this new journey!

 

I cannot wait to keep you all updated with what is going on in Costa Rica! Pura Vida!

Leave a Reply

